The Nectar

An Earth without bees…
A civilization on the edge of  starvation…
A hidden journal that might hold the key to humanity’s survival.

The year is 2031. Bees and other natural pollinators vanish, leaving a panicked population fighting for food and resources. Seventeen-year-old Keeley’s parents force her into the Army, believing the military will keep her safe and fed during the worsening crisis. She’s assigned to a government research installation where covert experiments are underway to alter the human genome.

The year is 2180. Much of the world’s food crops are gone, along with the wildlife that was hunted to extinction. Migrant colonies crisscross the countryside, hand-pollinating the remaining crops in a desperate effort to keep the human race alive. It’s seventeen-year-old Hannah’s job to feed migrant workers the Nectar, a nutrient that allows them to survive without real food. Hannah is devoted to her duty, until she finds Keeley’s century-and-a-half-old journal and discovers the Nectar is far from the blessing she believes it to be. The information in the journal blows her world apart. But it might also hold the secret to saving mankind…

The Nectar is an exciting and thought-provoking YA science fiction novel that will appeal to fans of Marie Lu, Lauren Oliver, Maggie Stiefvater, and Veronica Roth.

BUY THE NECTAR

 

REVIEWS FOR THE NECTAR:

5 Stars! Reviewed by Kim Anisi for Readers’ Favorite
It is the year 2180. The story of The Nectar by Leslie Miller introduces us to Hannah, who is a so-called shepherdess. Her job is to give nectar to the pollinators – people who manually pollinate plants because there are no more bees, and no more other pollinating insects. When she and her team receive a rather unusual and lucrative job, her life is about to change; not only because her team will have more money to spend on things, but also because she finds the diary of a girl who lived in the year 2031 – the year in which bees officially became extinct.

Keeley, the author of the diary, is sent to the army by her parents because they believed that the army would make sure to keep their daughter fed. What they did not expect was that their daughter would become part of a research that would change everything. And her diary will once more change everything because Hannah needs to admit to herself that the nectar she gives to her workers is not quite what it seems.

Considering that bees and other pollinating insects are indeed slowly getting closer to extinction, the plot of The Nectar by Leslie Miller is not that farfetched and is very thought provoking. What will we do when the last bee has died? Will we have to start having our own pollinators? What will humankind do when much of the food we are used to cannot be produced any longer? It is unlikely (I hope) that the events of this fascinating novel will become reality, but it was very interesting – and scary – to image that there is a possibility of it. I also enjoyed the two main characters who have a very different way of describing the world around them. It’s nice to see when an author can use two different voices instead of making everyone sound the same.

I finished the book in just a few sittings because it was hard to put down. You simply want to know what happens and how Hannah will react to the truth behind everything!

*************************************************************************************

5 Stars Cool addicting story
on June 29, 2017

I really liked this book. Although the basic story line was simple, no more bees to pollinate plants, the story was so much more. It’s basically a story inside a story. The main story is about Hannah and her “colony” that moves around and pollinates plants who end up on an abandoned farm in the New York. Hannah finds a journal written by Keeley, set 150 years in the past when the fall of the world was happening. I thought it was interesting to read about Hannah and Keeley and how their individual stories were woven together to give a clear picture on how history effects now.